TRYING TUMERIC*

*a BEAUTY BIOGRAPHY appendix

When it comes to any trend I am usually late to the party. Apparently, turmeric was listed as a “Rising Star” in the 2016 Google Food Trends Report. (So, if you are like me, check out what was cool last year and get on the caboose before we get any further into 2017.) I’ve seen a lot going around about the benefits of turmeric: it’s an anti-inflammatory, antioxidant, improves brain function, lowers the risk of heart disease, AND, due to it’s antiseptic and antibacterial properties, helps reduce acne. I’m listening, Turmeric.
img_8061Enter the Turmeric Latte, aka Golden Milk. A delicate concoction of turmeric, ginger, cinnamon, and milk (dairy or non). After some bleary-eyed, late-night web searching (none of which can be found again or referenced) I found out that drinking this magic elixir can help with breakouts. Experiencing what I call “hormonal acne” (self-diagnosed, mind you), I decided to give this sure to be tasty treat a try.

So far I’ve tried two different recipes: Creamy Turmeric Latte and 5 Minute Turmeric Tea Recipe. I like chai tea. I like curry. I like Golden Milk. I won’t lie…it’s kind of a messy hassle to make. It’s easy, but the stain power of turmeric means that precision pouring must prevail, or be ready with some washcloths if you want to save your countertops. To achieve the fancy, frothy, Portland-esque coffee bar appeal use an immersion blender.

It’s too early to know if my self-diagnosed hormonal acne will be eradicated by the enamored turmeric, but I’m willing to continue juggling a preschooler, baby and immersion blender each afternoon to find out. Stay tuned.

Have you ever tried a Turmeric Latte?

3 thoughts on “TRYING TUMERIC*

  1. I seriously cannot wait to try this concoction today! Headed to the store shortly to get the missing ingredients. Plus I just recently received an immersion blender and a hand held frother! Golden Milk here we come!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Heard about the bennies of tumeric for a while now. Would like to try, but I’m missing on immersion blender.
    I have seen tumwric smoothies/fresh juices at both Whole Foods & Mariano’a. Perhaps I will give that a whirl first?

    Like

Leave a Reply

