CINDY


WHAT IS YOUR FIRST BEAUTY MEMORY?
My first memory is probably my mom and her lipstick. My mom always wears makeup (she even recently got purple eyeliner tattooed, which she loves), but most importantly would not get out of the car without a fresh coat of lipstick. I remember thinking how silly it was or annoyed at having to wait to get out of the car. I have always been more of a tomboy, never really wearing makeup until my late teens and even then very rarely. In fact, my husband didn’t see me in makeup until a year into our relationship! I remember my mom being excited when I wanted to go and buy jeans in high school – up to that point, it was all about the sweatpants. Luckily I have evolved since then! Though now I do enjoy the occasional (like once a month or so) getting dressed up and putting full makeup on, it is definitely not a daily thing for me.

HOW HAS YOUR BEAUTY ROUTINE CHANGED OVERTIME?
I never really had a beauty routine in the classic sense. I have been lucky with fairly good skin, so just using a facial cleanser (Clean & Clear Blackhead Eraser Scrub) was all I really did. I am now trying the Neutrogena Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser instead (trying to get away from the plastic microbeads that are in many cleansers and are really bad for the environment, oceans in particular). As a marine mammalogist in Florida/Bahamas for over 10 years, my routine did involve a lot of sunscreen (SPF 50+ as I am very pale, Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry Touch). I will also use hand/body lotion on occasion when needed (particularly on my hands during cold weather). As I have gotten older I have become more interested in other types of beauty care, due to just curiosity and some necessity. I recently began having redness issues from Rosacea, and when the prescription lotion was way too much $$$$, I searched for other options. My doctor said that Retinol A was an ingredient to look for in over the counter items. So after a few tries, I found Neutrogena Rapid Tone Repair Moisturizer for day (with sunscreen) and night (both with accelerated Retinol A). They have worked great and I haven’t been this happy with my skin in years. Due to talking with my friends about this type of stuff, and recently getting a mini facial on vacation, I recently decided to try a face mask (first time!) – the Studio 35 Beauty Peel-Off Cucumber Mask. I think it, or something like it, might become a routine, my skin felt refreshed and I felt a little pampered, even for just 15 minutes, which is hard to come by as a busy mom.

WHERE DO YOU LOOK FOR MAKEUP AND SKINCARE RECOMMENDATIONS?
Well, I suppose that would mean I had to look?? I guess since I haven’t had a lot of interest in the past. I have asked friends sometimes, but other than that I just look around the store, read the labels and try to decipher what would be the best choice, try and repeat until something works. It can be pretty daunting with so many options available, I suppose the internet would be my next option, though what good sites to go to are a mystery to me!

WHAT PRODUCTS ARE YOU LOVING RIGHT NOW?
My main love is the Neutrogena Rapid Tone Repair Moisturizers that have cleared up my Rosacea issues. The Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry Touch sunscreen has been a favorite for years, especially for someone with oily skin. For my make-up (the occasional time I wear it!) I found Almay Intense i-Color products (shadow, liner and mascara). These are great because they tell you which colors to buy based on your eye color, and the shadow is in a little container that easily shows you which color goes where (lid, crease, highlight) – for people like me with very little experience with make-up it makes it easy to do a decent job.

WHEN DO YOU FEEL THE MOST CONFIDENT?
When I can find a little time to myself – taking a shower without rushing, blow-drying my hair, getting in a run, doing a 15-minute face mask, or those occasional dress-up times. It is amazing what a few minutes focusing on yourself can do to your confidence, and how hard it is to find those minutes in the busy days of working and being a mom!

Cindy is a married, thirtysomething marine mammalogist and mother of one. She loves nature, animals and anything geeky (see replica lightsaber on her mantle). Oh, and also anything that involves peanut butter.

Want your own Beauty Biography? Write it here.

One thought on “CINDY

  1. Cindy, this info was great! Can’t wait to try the Neutrogena Repair to see if it helps my skin!!!
    Love these recommendations!

    Like

Leave a comment